Our Mission

The Texas Association of Soccer Coaches helps its members excel in their coaching careers as well as advances the coaching of soccer, thereby improving players, through a commitment to provide the best coaching education, convention, member services, and benefits to the soccer community

Our Vision

The Texas Association of Soccer Coaches will be the leading organization in the State of Texas dedicated to serving the needs of soccer coaches.

Our History

The University Interscholastic League [UIL] first recognized Soccer as a varsity sport in Texas for the 1982-1983 school year. Dallas Kimball became the first girls UIL state champion defeating Round Rock Westwood 1-0. Richardson Pearce was the first boys UIL champion defeating Austin Westlake 2-0.

Seeing a need for increased communication and support for the new Texas soccer coaches, The Texas Association of Soccer Coaches TASCO was formed in 1983. Coaches Diane Davey (Plano), Guy Greening (Duncanville), and other High School soccer coaches founded TASCO as a way to support the growth of soccer in the state of Texas. Their vision of seeing soccer grow to a staple sport in all Texas school has almost been realized.

TASCO continues to work with Texas Soccer coaches and the UIL. In the years leading up to 1998, TASCO was instrumental in helping with the creation of two classifications for HS soccer, 5A and 4A/3A. TASCO played a crucial role in lobbying to convince the UIL to create 64 4A/3A soccer districts and add regional tournaments for the 4A/3A classification for the 2009 season. They continue to monitor the UIL’s progress in developing a separate 3A classification when it becomes feasible. TASCO was also influential in the change in the after school pre-season workout rule which allowed coaches to begin after school practice the Monday after Thanksgiving and the adoption of a holiday break scrimmage date.

TASCO currently awards scholarships to deserving high school seniors each year, as well as, scholarships to member coaches to attend coaching education opportunities.

TASCO has also added a TASCO Hall of Honor to honor coaches and others who have been instrumental in the development of high school soccer in Texas. Diane Davey (Plano), Guy Greening (Duncanville, Flower Mound), Kevin Johnson (Clear Creek, Dulles, Kingwood), Audrey Ambrose (SA Madison), Wes Kidd (Georgetown) and Eddie Joseph (THSCA) were the first class of inductees in 2010.

Today, TASCO plays a major role in helping soccer grow within the University Interscholastic League. TASCO has grown to over 2500 current members from the original handful of members who formed the organization back in 1983. Our yearly clinics are expanding exponentially and have grown to over 600 participants.


Go to Top